Our Tohu

There are four sections to the Te Ao Hou logo. Each section represents the four tribes of each area that provided representation on the Board of Te Ao Hou in 2003.

All the colours in the logo represent healing in body, spirit, mind and soul.  

Te Whānau ā Apanui | Te Ao Hou Trust

The first triangle represents Te Whānau ā Apanui and is blue in colour to signify the close association this iwi has with the ocean. The scales of the Moki (fish) are shown in their triangle.

Ngai Tūhoe | Te Ao Hou Trust

The second triangle represents Ngai Tūhoe, the green signifies their Maungatapu Maungapohatu, and the diamond in the centre represents Hinepukohurangi, the Mist Maiden.

Ngai Tai | Te Ao Hou Trust

The third triangle represents Ngai Tai and the colour of the triangle signifies Te Moana Nui a Toi (the waters of the Bay of Plenty). At the top corner are ‘heke’ which symbolise the fact Ngai Tai descended from the Tainui canoe.

Te Whakatōhea | Te Ao Hou Trust

The fourth triangle represents Te Whakatōhea, and the pattern in the centre symbolises their tradition of planting kumara and being food gatherers.